Maddie’s Pet Adoption Days

To be honest, I never really struggle with topics for this column. There are so many victories to be celebrated and battles yet to wage, I could write a column for every day of the week. Thankfully for you, the readers of this fine paper are not subjected to that. Yet this week’s column’s subject took no thought at all (though the composition did, believe it or not). This column will run smack dab in the middle of one of the most important, moving, and transformational weekends of our animal welfare calendar. Beginning this Saturday, May 31st and running through Sunday June 1st Nevada Humane Society, SPCA of Northern Nevada, and Pet Network will be participating in Maddies® Pet Adoption Days, America’s biggest free pet adoption event honoring the memory of the foundation’s namesake, a Miniature Schnauzer named Maddie.

What is this event that prods me to such hyperbole and superlatively you ask? I’ll tell you. Each year Maddies® Fund, a large and incredibly generous foundation established by David and Cheryl Duffield to help end the euthanasia of adoptable animals, invites a select group of communities to participate in Maddies® Pet Adoption Days. Washoe County groups will join over 200 organizations from 14 communities in 9 aimed at finding homes for 10,000 animals in need. That’s right; during this event you can adopt a dog, cat, puppy or kitten for FREE. All animals will be spayed or neutered, vaccinated and microchipped—ready for their forever home. For every dog or cat that is adopted, Maddies® Fund will make a generous donation to the adopting shelter to help save even more lives.

Last year, Washoe County adopted almost 500 animals during this event. It is the single largest lifesaving event in the state of Nevada. It is obviously a transformational weekend for our entire community, especially so for the homeless animals of our community. Moreover it is a lynch-pin of ours, of Washoe County’s no-kill mission. I am not above prostrating myself (I mean it, I raise money for a living, begging is a big part of my life), so from my hands and knees please consider adding a new fuzzy member to your family this weekend.

I have been in this business for awhile and I sometimes find myself calloused to the everyday miracles of this place, but not this weekend. I pray that I can look upon an empty shelter on Monday morning. I promise I will cry. Save a life, make a difference.     

Kevin Ryan

CEO, Nevada Humane Society 

Posted in Uncategorized. Leave a Comment »

Leave a Reply

